
Comparison
AymexConnect
vs Teams Phone
Teams Phone costs about £18.50 per user in the UK, caps calls at 3,000 minutes, has no UK SMS and charges extra for AI recaps. Compared with AymexConnect.
By the AymexConnect team, Aymex LTDUpdated Published
In short
Microsoft Teams Phone is the natural choice if your company already lives in Microsoft 365, but a UK phone line costs about £18.50 per user per month ex VAT once you combine Microsoft 365 Business Basic (£5.40) with Teams Phone and a Domestic Calling Plan (£13.10), calls are capped at 3,000 pooled minutes, SMS is not available in the UK, and AI call and meeting recaps need Teams Premium or Copilot on top. AymexConnect Professional is £17.95 with unlimited UK calling, two-way UK SMS and AI call summaries included.
Price and terms
Teams Phone is an add-on to a Microsoft 365 licence. Microsoft's UK prices are Business Basic £5.40 per user (annual commitment), Teams Phone Standard £7.70, and Teams Phone with Calling Plan from £9.20 (pay-as-you-go, every call metered) to £13.10 (Domestic, 3,000 UK minutes pooled across the tenant) and £26.10 (Domestic and International), all ex VAT.
Intelligent recap for calls and meetings and Copilot rewrite in chat require a Teams Premium or Microsoft Copilot licence in addition. A Teams Phone Agent (AI receptionist) is billed in Copilot credits.
Feature by feature
- Included
- Some plans
- Paid add-on
- Not available
- Not stated
| Feature | AymexConnect | Teams Phone |
|---|---|---|
| Price per user per month | £8.95 to £23.95 monthly, no contract (£7.45 to £19.95 billed annually) | About £18.50 (Microsoft 365 Business Basic £5.40 + Teams Phone with Domestic Calling £13.10) |
| Calling | ||
| Unlimited UK landline & mobile calls | Some plans.Professional & Ultimate; 500 pooled min on Starter | Not available.Capped at 3,000 pooled minutes |
| Auto-attendant / IVR menus | Some plans.Ultimate, set up by our team | Included.With Teams Phone |
| Ring groups / call queues | Some plans.Ultimate | Included. |
| Call recording in the plan price | Some plans.Professional & Ultimate | Included. |
| 999 address per user or number | Included.Per number and per site | Included. |
| Messaging & meetings | ||
| Two-way SMS from your UK business number | Included.Every plan; pay-as-you-go on Starter | Not available.US and Canada only |
| Team chat & channels | Included. | Included. |
| Video meetings | Included.40-min cap on Starter | Included. |
| AI | ||
| Voicemail transcription | Included.With an AI summary | Included. |
| AI call summaries | Some plans.Professional & Ultimate | Paid add-on.Teams Premium or Copilot |
| AI meeting recaps | Some plans.Ultimate | Paid add-on.Teams Premium or Copilot |
| AI writing help for chat & SMS | Included.50 uses per user on Starter | Paid add-on.Copilot |
| Background noise reduction | Included. | Included. |
| AI receptionist / voice agent | Not available.Not offered yet | Paid add-on.Teams Phone Agent, credits |
| Apps & devices | ||
| Native Linux desktop app | Included. | Not available.Web only |
| Calling from a web browser | Not available.Browser for meetings & admin; calls in the apps | Included. |
| Bring your own SIP desk phones | Some plans.Professional & Ultimate | Some plans.Certified models only |
| Terms, trust & data | ||
| Monthly plan, no minimum term | Included. | Not stated. |
| Self-serve free trial | Included.30 days, no card | Not stated. |
| Published prices in pounds | Included. | Included. |
| Customer data stored in the UK/EU | Included.UK (AWS London) and EU | Included.UK data-at-rest commitment |
| Fraud controls & spending limits | Included.Allowed destinations + daily spend cap | Included.Dial-out policies, prepaid credits |
"Not stated" means Teams Phone does not document it on the public UK pages we checked on 4 November 2026; it may still be available. Ask them before you rule it out.
Where Teams Phone is the better fit
- Your organisation already standardises on Microsoft 365 and Teams for chat and meetings.
- You want calling inside Teams with Microsoft's identity, compliance and data-residency tooling.
- You already pay for Copilot or Teams Premium, so the AI is covered.
Where AymexConnect is the better fit
- You want genuinely unlimited UK calling, not a 3,000-minute pool.
- You need two-way SMS from your business number; Teams supports SMS only in the US and Canada.
- You want AI call summaries without a Premium or Copilot licence: included from £17.95.
- You want a phone system you can set up in an afternoon without Microsoft 365 admin work, resource accounts and calling policies.
- Some of your team use Linux: Teams has no Linux desktop app; AymexConnect does.
AymexConnect plans in brief
AymexConnect has three plans. Starter is £8.95 per user per month: 500 pooled outbound minutes per user, unlimited inbound, two-way business SMS (pay-as-you-go), team chat, 40-minute video meetings, smart voicemail and AI writing help. Professional is £17.95: unlimited UK landline and mobile calling, 50 SMS per user, unlimited meeting length, call recording, AI call summaries and your own SIP desk phones. Ultimate is £23.95: meeting recording and AI recaps, two numbers per user, 150 SMS, and business-hours routing, auto-attendant menus and ring groups set up for you.
Annual billing is £7.45, £14.95 and £19.95. Monthly plans have no minimum term, there is no hardware to buy, and the 30-day trial needs no card.
Questions people ask
About £18.50 per user per month ex VAT for a typical small business: Microsoft 365 Business Basic at £5.40 plus Teams Phone with a Domestic Calling Plan at £13.10. AI recaps need Teams Premium or Copilot on top.
No. Microsoft documents Teams SMS for US, Puerto Rico and Canada Calling Plan numbers only.
No. The UK Domestic Calling Plan includes 3,000 minutes per user pooled across the organisation; calls beyond that are billed per minute from prepaid credits.
Yes. Many teams keep Teams for internal chat and documents and use AymexConnect for the business phone number, SMS and customer calls.
Sources
Third-party facts on this page were read from the sources below on the date shown. Providers change prices and terms; check their site before you decide.
- Microsoft Teams Phone (UK) · checked 4 November 2026
- Teams Calling Plans in the UK · checked 4 November 2026
- Teams SMS availability · checked 4 November 2026
- Teams intelligent recap licensing · checked 4 November 2026
- Teams clients (Linux support) · checked 4 November 2026
Keep reading
See It on Your Own Numbers Free for Thirty Days
A UK number, every app and smart voicemail from day one. No card, no contract, cancel in a click.